Friday, April 19, 2013

Crispin is a Grandmaster

AlienZorroStar WarsStar TrekV, and Pirates of the Caribbean—what connection do these diverse and wildly successful franchises share?
Acclaimed bestselling author Ann C. Crispin.
The International Association of Media Tie-In Writers is thrilled to name Ms. Crispin the 2013 Grandmaster, the highest honor awarded by the organization.  The annual award, also known as the Faust, recognizes her achievements writing novels and short stories based on movies and television shows.  A supremely talented writer and generous mentor, Ms. Crispin has authored twenty-four novels and several short stories.  She teaches writing workshops and seminars and co‑founded Writer Beware, an invaluable blog and online resource which has exposed countless scams that prey on writers.
In addition to her tie-in work, Ms. Crispin created the wonderful StarBridge series aimed at young adult readers.  She also collaborated with the legendary Andre Norton on two novels in the Witch World series.
The award will be presented at a ceremony in July at Comic-Con in San Diego, where the IAMTW will also be presenting the Scribe Awards, honoring the best tie-ins of the year.

IAMTW ( is a professional organization for authors of books based on TV shows, movies, and games. The organization is dedicated educating the public about our field, enhancing the professional status of our members, and to providing a forum for tie-in writers to share information, support one another, and discuss issues relating to our industry.

Friday, April 12, 2013

Scribe Award Nominees Announced

The International Association of Media Tie-In Writers is pleased to announce the nominees for the 2013 Scribe Awards for excellence in media tie-in writing. The winner will be announced at a ceremony at Comic-Con in July.

Star Trek Rings of Time Greg Cox
Star Trek The Persistence of Memory David Mack
Pathfinder City of the Fallen Sky Tim Pratt
Dungeons and Dragons Online Skein of Shadow Marsheila Rockwell
Darksiders The Abomination Vault Ari Marmell
Mike Hammer Lady, Go Die! Mikey Spillane/Max Collins
Tannhäuser Rising Sun, Falling Shadows Robert Jeschonek

Batman The Dark Knight Rises Stacia Deutsch
Clockwork Angels Kevin Anderson
Batman The Dark Knight Rises Greg Cox
Poptropica Astroknights Island Tracey West

Dark Shadows The Eternal Actress Nev Fountain
Dark Shadows Dress Me in Dark Dreams Marty Ross
Doctor Who Companion Chronicles Project Nirvana Cavan Scott

Scribe Award nominees announced!

Here are the nominees for the Scribe Awards for excellence in tie-in fiction for the calendar year 2012. The winners will be announced at Comic-Con International in San Diego in July.
    Original Novel 
    Star Trek: Rings of Time by Greg Cox 
    Tannhäuser: Rising Sun, Falling Shadows by Robert T. Jeschonek 
    Star Trek: The Next Generation: Cold Equations Book 1: The Persistence of Memory by David Mack 
    Darksiders: The Abomination Vault by Ari Marmell 
    Pathfinder: City of the Fallen Sky by Tim Pratt 
    Dungeons and Dragons Online: Skein of Shadows by Marsheila Rockwell 
    Mike Hammer: Lady, Go Die! by Mickey Spillane & Max Collins 

    Adapted Novel 
    Clockwork Angels by Kevin J. Anderson 
    Batman: The Dark Knight Rises by Greg Cox 
    Batman: The Dark Knight Rises (YA novelization) by Stacia Deutsch 
    Poptropica: Astroknights Island by Tracey West 

    Dark Shadows: The Eternal Actress by Nev Fountain 
    Dark Shadows: Dress Me in Dark Dreams by Marty Ross 
    Doctor Who: Companion Chronicles: Project Nirvana by Cavan Scott & Mark Wright
Congratulations to all the nominees!